Friday, November 28, 2014

Makowsky And Eddie Davis Going To CFL Hall of Fame


The Canadian Football Hall of Fame and Museum (CFHOF) announced a star-studded cast of 2014 inductees on Friday night in Vancouver.

Former Calgary Stampeders and BC Lions quarterback Dave Dickenson highlights the list of players inducted, which also includes Leroy Blugh, Eddie Davis, and Gene Makowsky. Bob O'Billovich, a long-time CFL Head Coach and General Manager, headlines the list of builders being inducted along with Larry Reda and Bob Wetenhall.

“On behalf of the CFL, our Board of Governors and our fans, congratulations to this year’s inductees on this great honour,” said CFL Commissioner Mark Cohon. “Every one of these gentlemen had a positive impact on the growth of football in our country, and for that we are forever indebted to them."

Players Category

Leroy Blugh

Leroy Blugh had a successful collegiate and professional career. During his time with the Bishop’s Gaiters, Blugh amassed numerous records with Bishop’s University and in the Canadian Intercollegiate Athletic Union (CIAU). After college, Blugh spent 14 seasons with the Canadian Football League (CFL) with the Edmonton Eskimos and the Toronto Argonauts. During his career with the CFL, he has two West Division All-Star selections. Once his playing career was over, Blugh decided to return to his Alma matter in Bishop’s and coached the Gaiters for six seasons from 2006 until 2011.

Eddie Davis

Eddie Davis started his CFL career in 1995, when he was part of the Birmingham Barracudas. He then moved on to play to play for the Calgary Stampeders where he spent five seasons, winning his first Grey Cup in 1998. During his time with Calgary, Eddie’s best season was in 1998, where he had 77 total tackles, three sacks, and four interceptions for 127 yards. In 2001, Eddie joined the Saskatchewan Roughriders. He continued on as a Roughrider until his retirement in 2009. During his time with the Roughriders, he led Saskatchewan in interceptions in 2001 with 4 and 2004 with 6 and won his second Grey Cup in 2007.

Dave Dickenson

Dave Dickenson started his CFL career with the Calgary Stampeders. In his first 5 years, Dickenson participated in two Grey Cups, winning his first in 1998. Named a CFL and West All-Star, & won the Most Outstanding Player award in 2000. Dickenson joined the NFL for three seasons, returning to the CFL in 2003 as Quarterback for the BC Lions. Leading the Lions to the Grey Cup win in 2006. Dickenson returned to his roots, finishing his career with the Calgary Stampeders.

Gene Makowsky

Gene Makowsky played his entire 17-year career with the Saskatchewan Roughriders. Throughout his career, Makowsky played a total of 284 regular season games, 16 playoff games, and 4 Grey Cup games with Saskatchewan. Upon his retirement, he is listed first in most seasons played by a Saskatchewan Roughriders with 17. In 2013, Makowsky was also inducted into Saskatchewan Roughriders Plaza of Honour.

Builders Category

Bob O'Billovich

Bob O’Billovich began his football career with the University of Montana, where he is a member of their Hall of Fame. O’Billovich then played five seasons with the Ottawa Rough Riders from 1963 – 1967. During that time he was an Eastern divison All-Star in 1965 and a Grey Cup participant in 1966.

Once O’Billovich retired as a player, he became an Assistant Coach for the Ottawa Rough Riders from 1976 - 1981. Bob’s first head coaching position was with the Toronto Argonauts where he stayed for eight seasons from 1982 - 1989 and won his only Grey Cup in 1983. Following that, O’Billovich moved to Vancouver and took on the role of Head Coach/General Manager of the BC Lions from 1990 - 1992.

Moving back to Toronto to become the Head Coach/General Manager from 1993 - 1995. After Toronto, O’Billovich bumped around the CFL until he landed the General Manager position with the Hamilton Tiger-Cats in 2008. In total, Bob O’Billovich garnered 107 wins as a head coach.

Larry Reda

Larry Reda is known as the man who is behind the Western Canada All-Star football camp which runs annually at Simon Fraser University. As a coach, Larry participated in every level of amateur football. As an administrator, Larry held the following positions: Director, and President of the BC Junior Football League.

Among the highlights in his career, Larry is a lifetime member of the Canadian Junior Football League (CJFL), a trustee of the selection committee for the BC Sports Hall of Fame, the recipient of the lifetime achievement award which are presented by the BC Lions, was a charter member of the BC Football Hall of Fame, awarded the Commissioner’s Award for outstanding service to football in Canada in 2011.

Bob Wetenhall

Bob Wetenhall was the primary figure in the expansion, infrastructure improvements, and the restoration of Percival-Molson Stadium at McGill University. As owner, Montreal had 10 first-place finishes, eight Grey Cup appearances, three Grey Cup championships, and the city of Montreal hosted two Grey Cup games.

Since 1997, when Bob brought former CFL commissioner Larry Smith into the organization, the two designed the “Adopt an Alouette” project, which is Montreal Alouettes players went into the schools, talked to the students and got the excited about the Canadian game. Among helping designed the “Adopt an Alouette” program, Bob was part of the Board of Governors from 1997 until 2013, and in 2011 was granted McGill University’s highest honour: The Honourary Doctor of Laws Degree.


Anonymous said...

Congrats to both!

Anonymous said...

Eddie Davis is, was and always will be my favourite Rider!!

Chris G