Wednesday, January 21, 2015

Hufnagel Wins CFL Coach of The Year

Calgary Stampeders GM/head coach John Hufnagel ended a winning season on yet another winning note.
This time it’s as winner of the Annis Stukus Trophy as the CFL’s coach of the year. And true to form, Coach Huff immediately deflected the praise onto those around him.
“I’m honoured and proud to receive this award and I accept it on behalf of everyone in our organization who made it possible,” Hufnagel said. “The award also belongs to our owners, coaches, support staff, players and fans. They all played a major role in our success in 2014 and I thank them all.”
In his seventh year as GM/head coach of the Stamps, Hufnagel guided the Red and White to a league-best 15-3 record during the regular season and then led the Stamps to the seventh championship in franchise history with wins over the Edmonton Eskimos (43-18) in the West Final and the Hamilton Tiger-Cats (20-16) in the Grey Cup game.
Hufnagel, who previously won the Annis Stukus Trophy in 2008, joins Wally Buono (the winner in 1992 and ’93) as the only Stampeders bosses to be voted as coach of the year on multiple occasions.
Tom Higgins of the Montreal Alouettes and Chris Jones of the Edmonton Eskimos were the other finalists for the award, which was determined in a vote conducted by the Football Reporters of Canada.


1 comment:

Anonymous said...

This award should be announced Grey Cup week.