Tuesday, April 8, 2014

Neal Hughes Going To U of R Hall Of Fame

Former University of Regina Rams running back Neal Hughes will be inducted into the University of Regina Sports Hall of Fame on Thursday as part of the U of R’s 39th Annual Athletic Awards night on campus at the University Theatre in the Riddell Centre.


One of the original U of R football players after the Rams moved to the CIS from the junior ranks in 1999, Hughes had five stellar seasons at the U of R and has parlayed that into a long career at the professional level. He also completed his Bachelor of Education from the U of R in 2007.

Hughes was a great all-purpose running back for the Rams, being named a Canada West all-star in 2002 and 2003 and earning the Don Loney Trophy as the 2000 Atlantic Bowl MVP after an incredible performance in the team's 40-36 victory over Saint Mary's which sent the Rams to the Vanier Cup. Hughes remains the University of Regina's all-time leader in rushing yards (2934), touchdown runs (17), and all-purpose yards (5667). He won a Canada West championship with the Rams in his second year at the U of R.


“Neal might be the most complete player our team has ever had,” Rams head coach Frank McCrystal said. “He was a playmaker who made a difference every time he touched the ball. Neal was an exemplary student-athlete, leader, teammate, and citizen who made immeasurable impacts on our organization.”

After finishing with the Rams in 2003, Hughes started a lengthy career with the CFL's Saskatchewan Roughriders. Utilized as a fullback and on special teams, Hughes won Grey Cups with the Roughriders in both 2007 and 2013. He's currently preparing for his 11th CFL season.

Hughes is the 16th inductee to the University of Regina Sports Hall of Fame’s athlete category and the second from the Rams, joining former teammate Jason Clermont.


University of Regina Sports Hall of Fame Inductees – Athletes Category
Chris Biegler, 1995 (men's basketball)
Jackie Moore, 1997 (women's basketball)
Rod Houk, 2000 (men's hockey)
Deanne Shmyr, 2000 (women's basketball)
Kerri Buchberger, 2001 (women's volleyball)
Jim Burnett, 2003 (men's wrestling)
Kevin Gilroy, 2004 (men's basketball)
Bob McDougall, 2005 (men's wrestling)
Jason Clermont, 2007 (Rams football)
Dean Schmeichel, 2007 (men's wrestling)
Corrin Wersta, 2008 (women's basketball)
Cymone Bouchard, 2009 (women's basketball)
Andrea (Gottselig) Ward, 2011 (women's basketball)
Brandy West-McMaster, 2011 (women's hockey)
Shawn Peters, 2012 (men’s track & field)
Neal Hughes, 2014 (Rams football)


Mike from Vita, MB said...

Congrats Neal! Champ on & off the field!

Kyle Burgess said...

Congrats Neal! I have the privilege of getting to film Neal on Fishing Saskatchewan in the offseason.