Tuesday, May 17, 2016

Riders 2016 Plaza of Honor Inductees Are Named

The Saskatchewan Roughrider Plaza of Honor Committee has announced two new members will be inducted into the Plaza of Honor as the class of 2016. This year Matt Dominguez and Ivan Gutfriend will have their names forever etched into Saskatchewan Roughrider history.

The Plaza of Honor Dinner presented by SaskTel has inducted 120 individuals who have made major contributions to the proud tradition of the Saskatchewan Roughrider Football Club. The club has also inducted the 1966, 1989 and 2007 Grey Cup championship teams.

The cairn recognizing the Plaza of Honor inductees is situated outside the main gates on the west side of Mosaic Stadium. The Plaza of Honor cairn is sponsored by SaskTel, SASK SPORT INC. and the City of Regina.

The SaskTel Plaza of Honor Dinner is known as Saskatchewan’s most prestigious sports dinner and as a result has contributed over $6 million to the Saskatchewan Roughrider Football Club.

This year’s dinner is set for Friday, September 16th in the Credit Union Eventplex at Evraz Place.

MATT DOMINGUEZ ( 2003-2008) 

Born in Georgetown, Texas in 1978
Played six seasons in the CFL – all with the Roughriders
Played his college football at the Sam Houston State in Huntsville, Texas
Originally signed in May, 2003 after spending two seasons with the Denver Broncos 
Played 59 regular season games
Finished his CFL career with 250 receptions for 3,741 yards and 19 touchdowns
Played in six playoff games totaling 27 receptions for 440 yards and three touchdowns  
Won the Grey Cup with Saskatchewan in 2007
Selected West Division All-Star in 2006 

IVAN GUTFRIEND ( 1978-2015) 

Born in Leader, SK in 1947 before moving to Moose Jaw in 1953 
Spent 38 seasons with the Roughriders
Named Head Athletic Therapist in 1981 after joining the team in 1978
Received two undergraduate degrees from the University of Saskatchewan
Completed Master’s degree in Athletic Training from Indiana University
Worked 668 regular season games, 27 playoff games and six Grey Cup’s
Member of the 1989, 2007 and 2013 Grey Cup champion teams 

(Ryan Pollock/Riders PR)


Anonymous said...

Thumbs up to Ivan, but thumbs down to Matty D. He was good, but one of the all-time greats?

Anonymous said...

Great to see Ivan get recognized. Congrats!

Anonymous said...

No Wes Cates?

Anonymous said...

I'm always reminded of the great Wes Cates each time I walk into Mosiac Stadium from the west side, look up, and see in large letters: WEST GATES

Old Hank

Anonymous said...

Where is Joseph? Dominguez ahead of Joseph? Does anyone else see something wrong with that?

peter dalla riva

Anonymous said...

No Abou?

Anonymous said...

Abou Shmabou. Dominguez gets in ahead of Kerry Joseph. Who decides this?

Anonymous said...

Still no Danny, still no Roy!

Anonymous said...

Love the decision to recognize Ivan.

Are the Riders ever going to spell "honour" the Canadian way?

Anonymous said...

2018 POH inductees will be Chamblin, Taman, Barrett and Shivers. They can hold the dinner at the Tartan Club because about 50 people will go.

Anonymous said...

Congratulations Ivan.