Wednesday, April 17, 2013

Lowry Named WHL East Player Of Year

The Western Hockey League today announced the WHL Eastern Conference finalist for the 2012-13 WHL Player of the Year. The two finalists for WHL Player of the Year are determined through voting by General Managers, coaches, broadcast and media representatives of all WHL Member Clubs.

In the WHL's Eastern Conference, which includes the East and Central Divisions, the Player of the Year Nominee is forward Adam Lowry of the Swift Current Broncos.

Lowry enjoyed a strong season for the Swift Current Broncos, appearing in all 72 games while scoring a team-leading 45 goals and 43 assists for 88 points to go with a +18 rating and 102 penalty minutes. Lowry’s considerable contributions to the Broncos helped the Club make the WHL playoffs for the first time since the 2009-10 season.

Lowry, a Calgary, AB, finished sixth among all WHL players in goals and finished 12th in WHL scoring with 88 points. In addition, Lowry finished tied for eighth among all WHL players with 14 power play goals and tied for second with six shorthanded goals. His eight game-winning goals also tied him for second among WHL players in that category. Lowry displayed remarkable consistency throughout the 2012-13 WHL season, going more than two games without recording a point only three times all season while enjoying a season-best 21-game point streak and an eight-game goal streak. His efforts saw him named the Husky WHL Player of the Month for December. Lowry’s importance to the Broncos during the 2012-13 season cannot be understated as he had a hand in nearly 48% of his team’s entire offensive output.

Chosen by the Broncos in the 4th round, 78th overall, of the 2008 WHL Bantam Draft, Lowry has played four seasons in the WHL, scoring 90 goals and 204 points in 235 regular-season games. Lowry was drafted by the Winnipeg Jets in the 3rd round, 67th overall, in the 2011 NHL Draft.

The WHL Western Conference finalist for the 2012-13 WHL Player of the Year will be announced on Thursday, April 18. The recipients of all WHL individual awards will be announced at the 2013 WHL Awards Luncheon, which will be held in Calgary, Alberta, on Wednesday, May 1, 2013.

WHL Rookie of the Year, Jim Piggott Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Leon Draisaitl (Cologne, Germany), Prince Albert Raiders
Western Conference – Seth Jones (Plano, TX), Portland Winterhawks

WHL Goaltender of the Year, Del Wilson Trophy
Eastern Conference – Patrik Bartosak (Koprivnice, CZR), Red Deer Rebels
Western Conference – Mac Carruth (Shorewood, MN), Portland Winterhawks

WHL Defenceman of the Year, Bill Hunter Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Morgan Rielly (Vancouver, BC), Moose Jaw Warriors
Western Conference – Brenden Kichton (Spruce Grove, AB), Spokane Chiefs

WHL Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year, Brad Hornung Trophy
Eastern Conference – Dylan Wruck (Saskatoon, SK), Edmonton Oil Kings
Western Conference – Zach Franko (Winnipeg, MB), Kelowna Rockets

WHL Scholastic Player of the Year, Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Josh Morrissey (Calgary, AB), Prince Albert Raiders
Western Conference – Rourke Chartier (Saskatoon, SK), Kelowna Rockets

WHL Coach of the Year, Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Ryan McGill, Kootenay Ice
Western Conference – Ryan Huska, Kelowna Rockets

WHL Executive of the Year, Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Bob Green, Edmonton Oil Kings
Western Conference – Bruce Hamilton, Kelowna Rockets

WHL Humanitarian of the Year, Doug Wickenheiser Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Cody Sylvester (Vernon , BC), Calgary Hitmen
Western Conference – Mitch Topping (Red Deer, AB), Tri City Americans

WHL Marketing / Business Award
Eastern Conference – Saskatoon Blades
Western Conference – Kamloops Blazers

No comments: