Wednesday, June 1, 2016

Cubs and Royals Dominating MLB All Star Voting

The Chicago Cubs are off to their best start other than 1907, and there's another way to measure their success so far this season: five leaders in the first National League voting update during the ongoing 2016 Esurance MLB All-Star Game Ballot campaign.

Only time will tell whether the starting infield at the 2016 All-Star Game presented by MasterCard on July 12 in San Diego will be the same one seen routinely at Wrigley Field, but as of Wednesday's announcement by Major League Baseball, it would include first baseman Anthony Rizzo, second baseman Ben Zobrist, shortstop Addison Russell and third baseman Kris Bryant.

Add center fielder Dexter Fowler, who is among the three NL outfield vote leaders, and it's a Cubs quintet. That doesn't even include right-hander Jake Arrieta, who could be a sixth starting Cub if things continue to go his way on the mound. Fans vote for starting position players, and the pitcher will be up to NL manager Terry Collins of the Mets

Leaders as of May 31

1B: Anthony Rizzo (Cubs)
2B: Ben Zobrist (Cubs)
SS: Addison Russell (Cubs)
3B: Kris Bryant (Cubs)
OF: Bryce Harper (Washington)
       Dexter Fowler (Chicago)
       Yoenis Cespedes (NY Mets)

C: Yadier Molina (St, Louis)

In the American League, three members of the defending World Series champion Kansas City Royals lead the way at their respective positions.

1B: Eric Hosmer (KC)
2B: Jose Altuve (Houston)
SS: Xander Bogaerts (Boston)
3B: Manny Machado (Baltimore)
OF: Mike Trout (Angels)
       Lorenzo Cain (KC)
       Adam Jones (Baltimore)
C:   Salvador Perez (KC)
DH: David Ortiz (Boston)

Fans can cast their votes for starters at and all 30 club sites -- on their computers, tablets and smartphones -- exclusively online using the 2016 Esurance MLB All-Star Game Ballot until Thursday, June 30, at 11:59 p.m. ET. Vote up to five times in any 24-hour period for a maximum of 35 times.

No comments: