Thursday, April 6, 2017

U of R Athletes Recognized on Awards Night

Track & field athlete Joy Becker cleaned up at the 42nd Annual University of Regina Athletics Awards Night on Thursday night, receiving Female Athlete of the Year and President’s Award honours at the University Theatre.

Becker recently concluded her five-year career with the Cougars by capturing Canada West gold medals in the long jump and triple jump as well as a silver medal in the 60-metre dash. The Roblin, Man. product capped the season with her second career U SPORTS silver medal in the long jump. Becker, a Faculty of Engineering & Applied Science student, was an Academic All-Canadian in the 2015-16 season and maintained a grade point average over 73% in her career as a student-athlete.

Steve Bryce was named the U of R’s Coach of the Year after leading the Regina Rams to a first-place finish in Canada West for the first time in program history. Bryce, who also earned Canada West Coach of the Year honours, guided the Rams to a 6-2 regular season record before falling to the UBC Thunderbirds in the Hardy Cup Semifinals.

Noah Picton was named the Male Athlete of the Year, after receiving the Hec Crighton Trophy as the top University football player in the country. Picton broke a U SPORTS single-season record with 3186 passing yards, set a Canada West record with 224 completions, and broke the U of R's record for single-season completion percentage (69.3).

Kyanna Giles (basketball) and Nicholas Dheilly (football) were named the Female Rookie of the Year and Male Rookie of the Year, respectively. Giles finished second on the Cougars in scoring and led the team in rebounds, earning Canada West and U SPORTS Rookie of the Year honours. Dheilly finished second in Canada West with four sacks through the regular season, and was a unanimous choice for Canada West Rookie of the Year.

The night also saw Janine Polischuk inducted into the University of Regina Sports Hall of Fame. Polischuk becomes the 20th athlete to be inducted into the Hall of Fame and first women’s track & field athlete.

Major Awards
President’s Award – Joy Becker (track & field)
Coach of the Year – Steve Bryce (Rams football)
Female Athlete of the Year – Joy Becker (track & field)
Male Athlete of the Year – Noah Picton (Rams football)
Female Rookie of the Year – Kyanna Giles (basketball)
Male Rookie of the Year – Nicholas Dheilly (Rams football)

Team MVPs
Men’s Basketball – Travis Sylvestre
Women’s Basketball – Katie Polischuk
Rams Football – Noah Picton
Men’s Hockey – Cody Fowlie
Women’s Hockey – Alexis Larson
Women’s Soccer – Kayla McDonald
Men’s Swimming – Noah Choboter
Women’s Swimming – Eva Madar
Men’s Track & Field – Kahlen Branning
Women’s Track & Field – Joy Becker
Men’s Volleyball – Cody Caldwell
Women’s Volleyball – Diana Lumbala
Men’s Wrestling – Waylon Decoteau
Women’s Wrestling – Amber Wiebe

No comments: