Wednesday, August 3, 2011

WMBL League-End Awards Named

The Western Major Baseball League would like to announce their award winners and Allstar teams for the 2011 Season.

Old Dutch Award for Most Valuable Player - Jesse Sawyer, Lethbridge Bulls

Sawyer led the Western Major Baseball League with 18 homeruns and 50 RBI's, with the 18 homeruns setting a new single season record. The Calgary, Alberta native finished the season with a .351 batting average, scored 38 runs and was second in the league with 37 walks.

Homme Award for League's Top Pitcher - Chad Jones, Swift Current Indians

Jones was almost unhittable out of the Indians bullpen, finishing the 2011 regular season with a 6-2 record, a 1.06 ERA and a WHIP of 0.65 in 42.2 innings pitched. The right-hander appeared in 22 games and helped Swfit Current capture another Central Division championship.

Doug Jones Award for League Batting Champion - Bryan Abrey, Medicine Hat Mavericks

Abrey, the 2010 Outstanding Canadian in the Western Major Baseball League, posted another remarkable season finishing the 2011 campaign with a league-leading .423 batting average.

The Vancouver, British Columbia product captured the batting championship with a furious push in the final week of the season. Abrey went 21-for-35 in the final days of the regular season including a pair of homeruns and six extra base hits.

Ray Hein Award for Rookie of the Year - Tyler Hollick, Okotoks Dawgs

Outstanding Canadian - Tyler Hollick, Okotoks Dawgs

Hollick punished opposing pitching in 2011 playing in front of a hometown crowd in Okotoks. From just down the road in Calgary, Alberta, Hollick finished the season with a .407 batting average 36 RBI and 41 runs scored in 44 games with the Dawgs.

League Executive Award for Coach of the Year - Rob Cherepuschak, Regina Red Sox

In his third season as head coach in Regina, Cherepuschak led the Red Sox to a league-best 32-10 record and a second consecutive WMBL East Division championship. A sign of Cherepuschak's calming influence over his players, the Red Sox had only one two-game losing streak in 42 games.

First Team Allstars


Marco Gonzales, Saskatoon Yellow Jackets

Ryan Rogers, Okotoks Dawgs


N.D. Gonzalez, Yorkton Cardinals

Chad Jones, Swift Current Indians


CJ DeDeaux, Medicine Hat Mavericks

Designated Hitter

CJ DeDeaux, Medicine Hat Mavericks


Jess Cooper, Moose Jaw Miller Express

Joel Lutz, Medicine Hat Mavericks

Mitch MacDonald, Regina Red Sox

Jesse Sawyer, Lethbridge Bulls


Bryan Abrey, Medicine Hat Mavericks

Tyler Hollick, Okotoks Dawgs

Nick Senior, Melville Millionaires

Second Team Allstars


Tim Jones, Swift Current Indians

Andrew Shoemaker, Medicine Hat Mavericks


Joey Evans, Swift Current Indians

Michael Mueller, Medicine Hat Mavericks


Kirk Haviland, Swift Current Indians

Designated Hitter

Parris Austin, Swift Current Indians

Johnny Hay, Regina Red Sox


John Apostolo, Edmonton Prospects

John Clark, Melville Millionaires

Tanner Craswell, Lethbridge Bulls

Kori Melo, Medicine Hat Mavericks

Randy Ramirez, Regina Red Sox


Luke Barry, Swift Current Indians

Grant Glasser, Edmonton Prospects

Brennan Peterson, Swift Current Indians

Zach Rhodes, Lethbridge Bulls

The Western Major Baseball League would like to congratulate the award winners and allstars for a successful 2011 season.

No comments: