Thursday, April 7, 2016

U of R Cougars Honor Their Best

University of Regina track & field standout Ahmed Alkabary was named the recipient of the prestigious President’s Award on Thursday night at the 41st Annual Athletic Awards Night at the University Theatre.
Alkabary recently capped his five-season career with a silver medal in the long jump at the CIS Championships. He also won two Canada West long jump championships and has earned Academic All-Canadian nominations in 2012, 2013, 2014, and 2015. A computer science major in the Faculty of Science, Alkabary carries an impressive grade point average of nearly 85%.
Sarah Hodges earned the inaugural Coach of the Year award after guiding the women’s hockey team to a 12-10-5-1 Canada West record, good for third place in the tight conference standings. Hodges, who also earned Canada West Coach of the Year honours, saw her Cougars win in the first round of the playoffs before falling to eventual Canada West champion UBC in the conference semifinals.
Toni Ross (hockey) and Noah Choboter (swimming) were named the Female Athlete of the Year and Male Athlete of the Year, respectively. Ross was a Canada West first-team all-star after leading the CIS with 17 wins and registering a 1.93 goals-against average, .929 save percentage, and three shutouts during the conference schedule, while Choboter won just the second and third CIS gold medals in the swimming program’s history with first-place finishes in both the 100-metre and 200-metre backstroke events.
Jaycee Magwood (hockey) was named the Female Rookie of the Year, while Greg Hetterley earned Male Rookie of the Year honours.
Major Awards
President’s Award – Ahmed Alkabary (track & field)
Coach of the Year – Sarah Hodges (hockey)
Female Athlete of the Year – Toni Ross (hockey)
Male Athlete of the Year – Noah Choboter (swimming)
Female Rookie of the Year – Jaycee Magwood (hockey)
Male Rookie of the Year – Greg Hetterley (track & field)
Team MVPs

Men’s Basketball – Jonathan Tull
Women’s Basketball – Charlotte Kot
Rams Football – Atlee Simon
Men’s Hockey – Austin Bourhis
Women’s Hockey – Toni Ross
Women’s Soccer – Celia Michaud
Swimming – Noah Choboter
Men’s Track & Field – Kahlen Branning
Women’s Track & Field – Joy Becker
Men’s Volleyball – Jacques Borgeaud
Women’s Volleyball – Molly Wade-Cummings
Men’s Wrestling – Gaelan Malloy
Women’s Wrestling – Kristine Longeau

No comments: