Tuesday, April 26, 2016

U of R Rams Coach Stephen Bryce Unveils Coaching Staff

University of Regina Rams first-year head coach Steve Bryce announced his coaching staff for the 2016 season on Tuesday afternoon, with well over half of the coaches returning from last year’s staff.

The offensive side of the ball will see all five coaches return, including coordinator Mark McConkey. Also back are offensive line coaches Steve Hanson and Sheldon Neald, running backs coach Dwayne Masson, and receivers coach Nathan Hoffart. The only changes to the offensive staff are in the form of a pair of additions, as former Rams player Campbell Antonini comes aboard as the team’s quarterbacks coach and Mark Becker will coach the U of R’s tight ends in addition to coordinating the scout team.

A defensive backs coach last season, Sheldon Gray will now serve as the team’s defensive coordinator. He’ll lead a defensive staff that includes returning defensive line coach Greg Nesbitt, and new additions Ventson Donelson (defensive backs), Derek Lamer (linebackers), and BK Woldu (defensive backs).

Alex Smith also returns as the special teams coordinator, a position he’s held since the 2013 season.

“I’m very excited about the coaching staff we’ve put together for this season,” Bryce said. “We have a tremendous mix of seasoned veterans and youthful exuberance with a wide variety of experiences to draw from – from professional all the way through to all levels of minor football – but one thing they all have in common is a commitment to constant improvement.”

The Rams are in final preparations for the Laurentian Bank Securities Spring Camp, which will be held this Friday, Saturday, and Sunday at the U of R Field.

University of Regina Rams – 2016 Coaching Staff
Head Coach – Steve Bryce (1st season)
Offensive Coordinator – Mark McConkey (2nd season)
Defensive Coordinator – Sheldon Gray (1st season as DC / 2nd season overall)
Special Teams Coordinator – Alex Smith (4th season)
Quarterbacks Coach – Campbell Antonini (1st season)
Tight Ends Coach / Scout Team Coordinator – Mark Becker (1st season)
Defensive Backs Coach – Ventson Donelson (1st season)
Offensive Line Coach – Steve Hanson (3rd season)
Receivers Coach – Nathan Hoffart (2nd season)
Linebackers Coach – Derek Lamer (1st season)
Running Backs Coach – Dwayne Masson (4th season)
Offensive Line Coach – Sheldon Neald (7th season)
Defensive Line Coach – Greg Nesbitt (12th season)
Defensive Backs Coach – BK Woldu (1st season)


Anonymous said...

I didn't even know Woldu wasn't a Rider anymore.

Mitchell Blair said...

The Rider is Paul, BK is his brother

Anonymous said...

14 coaches? This isn't the Riders!

Anonymous said...

14 coaches who are all better than the previous head coach. Move on now!