Wednesday, November 8, 2017

CFL Divisional All-Stars Announced---5 Riders Selected

Image result for willie jefferson

The CFL has named its divisional all-star squads and five members of the Saskatchewan Roughriders have made the grade.

On offence, there are three players on the squad---receivers Duron Carter, and Naaman Roosevelt along with offensive lineman Brendon Labatte.

Carter and Roosevelt each had over 1000 yards receiving this season while Labatte, who will not play this weekend against Ottawa in the Eastern semi-final due to injury, started all 18 regular-season games for the Riders, splitting time between centre and left guard. He was named the team’s most outstanding offensive lineman.

On defence, the two making the team were defensive lineman Willie Jefferson (pictured) and defensive back Ed Gainey.

Jefferson had eight quarterback sacks and 37 pressures this season while Gainey led the CFL in interceptions recording 10.

The complete list of all-stars can be found here

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Five mighty fine football players.