Tuesday, May 26, 2015

Riders Inducting Two More in 2015 To Plaza of Honor

Today the Saskatchewan Roughrider Plaza of Honor Committee announced two new members will be inducted into the Plaza of Honor. This year Scott Schultz and Tim McCray will have their names forever etched into Saskatchewan Roughrider history. 
As a result of being Saskatchewan’s most prestigious sporting dinner, the Plaza of Honor Dinner has contributed over $6 million to the Saskatchewan Roughrider Football Club. 
The Plaza of Honor Dinner presented by SaskTel has inducted 118 individuals who have made major contributions to the proud tradition of the Saskatchewan Roughrider Football Club. The club has also inducted the 1966, 1989 and 2007 Grey Cup championship teams. 
The cairn honouring the Plaza of Honor Inductees is situated outside the main gates on the west side of Mosaic Stadium. The Plaza of Honor cairn is sponsored by SaskTel, SASK SPORT INC. and the City of Regina. 
This year’s dinner is set for Friday, September 25th at the Credit Union Eventplex – Evraz Place. Four seasons ago the Dinner was moved to the Eventplex in order to accommodate a much larger audience. The space allows patrons the opportunity comfortable mingle and meet friends and associates throughout the evening.  Many changes are in the works for this year’s dinner.  The committee is working diligently to renew this event in order to ensure it continues to be an exciting, memorable, and unique experience for everyone involved.  
For information on tickets or corporate tables, contact the Saskatchewan Roughrider Ticket Office at 525-1281 or 1-888-474-3377 or any committee member.

Scott Schultz
North Dakota
Defensive Tackle

  • Born in Moose Jaw, SK in 1978
  • Played nine seasons in the CFL – all with the Roughriders
  • Played his college football at the University of North Dakota
  • Originally selected in the 1st round (1st overall) of the 2001 Canadian Draft
  • Played 128 regular season games
  • Played in 11 playoff games
  • Won the Grey Cup with Saskatchewan in 2007
  • Named the Riders Most Outstanding Canadian in 2005 and 2006
  • Finished his CFL career with 168 defensive tackles, nine tackles for loss, three fumble recoveries and two forced fumbles.
  • Sits sixth all-time in franchise quarterback sacks with 35.
  • Was known for the “Moose Jaw Stomp” sack dance

Running Back

  • Born in Waycross, GA in 1960
  • Played seven CFL seasons; five with the Roughriders
  • Played collegiately at Tulane University
  • Was acquired from Ottawa on June 21, 1986
  • Played 70 career regular seasons games … 54 with the Riders
  • Played in four playoff games … three with the Riders
  • Won the Grey Cup with Saskatchewan in 1989
  • Was named a West Division All-Star in 1989
  • Was named a CFL All-Star in 1989
  • Finished his Rider career with 519 carries and six rushing touchdowns. Currently sits seventh on the franchise all-time rushing list with 2,898 yards.
  • Had 171 receptions for 1,538 yards and seven touchdowns. 
  • Also added 81 kickoff returns for 1,829 yards putting him in ninth all-time.  


Anonymous said...

Congrats to the old 96er. Makin Moose Jaw proud!!

Anonymous said...

No Geno?

Anonymous said...


Anonymous said...

Geno is already in - 2013 inductee

Rod in Saskatoon

Anonymous said...

Tim McCray... Really? Not a name that really jumps out when you think Plaza of Honour.