Saturday, June 13, 2009

Riders Make Big Donation To Saskatchewan Football

Saskatchewan Roughrider President/CEO Jim Hopson announced today at Griffiths Stadium in Saskatoon that the organization will be donating $25,000 each to the University of Saskatchewan Huskies, the Saskatoon Hilltops and Football Saskatchewan.

“The Rider organization understands the importance of its support for amateur sport both in terms of building and sustaining the game of football in Saskatchewan,” stated Hopson. “A spinoff of one of the strongest and most vibrant amateur football programs in the country is the number of Saskatchewan young men playing for the Riders and throughout the CFL.”

The Saskatchewan Roughrider Football Club has a long history of supporting amateur football in the province. The club has had a policy of donating equipment, football personnel (coaches, players, trainers) and cash contributions to Saskatchewan football to support clinics, annual pass, punt & kick competitions and events such as the Canadian Under 19 & 17 tournaments.

Currently the Riders have 11 Saskatchewan born players on the roster – Jason Clermont, Stu Foord, Tamon George, Chris Getzlaf, Neal Hughes, Nick Hutchins, Joel Lipinski, Gene Makowsky, Jordan Rempel, Scott Schultz and Mike Stadnyk.

No comments: