Thursday, November 8, 2012

Three Riders Named CFL West All-Stars

The Saskatchewan Roughriders are pleased to announce that three players have been chosen to the West Division All-Star team. All three players from the green and white were selected to the West offence. The Division All-Stars were selected by 70 voters including members of the Football Reporters of Canada (FRC), the eight CFL head coaches and CFL fans from across the country.

WESTON DRESSLER (WR): Dressler just completed his fifth season with the Riders and it marked the fourth time he accumulated over 1,000 yards receiving since joining the team. He finished the regular season with 94 catches for 1,206 yards and 13 touchdowns, all career highs. He also added 11 carries for 56 yards and 20 punt returns for 229 yards, including a 76 yard return for a touchdown. This is Dressler’s third West Division All-Star nomination after being previously selected in 2009 and 2011.

CHRIS GETZLAF (WR): 2012 marked Getzlaf’s sixth CFL season after being acquired by the Riders via trade in 2007. The University of Regina product finished the regular season as the West Division’s leading Canadian receiver with 65 receptions for 864 yards and 2 touchdowns. This is Getzlaf’s first career Division All-Star nomination.

BRENDON LABATTE (OL): LaBatte just completed his fifth CFL season and first with the Riders. The University of Regina product spent the previous four seasons in Winnipeg after they had selected him in the 1st round (6th overall) in the 2008 Canadian Draft. LaBatte signed with the green and white as a free agent during the 2012 off season. This is LaBatte’s fourth consecutive Division All-Star nomination after previously being selected to the East Division team in 2009, 2010 and 2011.

Here is the complete list of CFL West All-Stars

QB Travis Lulay
RB Jon Cornish
RB Andrew Harris
R Weston Dressler
R Chris Getzlaf
R Nik Lewis
R Fred Stamps
T Ben Archibald
T Jovan Olafioye
G Brendon Labatte
G Dimitri Tsoumpas
C Angus Reid

DT Ted Laurent
DT Almondo Sewell
DE Charleston Hughes
DE Keron Williams
LB Adam Bighill
LB JC Sherritt
LB Juwan Simpson
CB Joe Burnett
CB Keon Raymond
DB Korey Banks
DB Ryan Phillips
S Donovan Alexander

K Rene Paredes
P Rob Maver
ST Tim Brown


Anonymous said...

I hope Chamblin plays the disrespect card the Riders are getting right up to and after the Grey Cup. Its a complete joke!

Anonymous said...

Who votes on this? I just saw the eastern all-stars and Rey Williams is an all-star. How can Rey Williams be an all-star on a team that gave up the points that Hamilton did and no Rider get recognition. Terrible!

Anonymous said...

Jamie Nye was whining to Suitor last nite about how one of his picks (Fulton) didn't get rookie of the year recognition. I can't wait to hear him whine tonight.