Monday, January 8, 2018

Dave Dickenson Going To US College Football Hall of Fame

Image result for dave dickenson montana state

Calgary Stampeders head coach Dave Dickenson will be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame, along with a star studded list of nine All-American players and three coaches.

Dickenson passed for 11,080 yards in his career at Montana from 1992-1995 and was named the 1994 Division I-AA player of the year.

"I am very honoured and excited to be included in the Hall of Fame," Dickenson said Monday. "We did some special things at Montana. To be able to represent our program, Don Read and the coaches, our school and our city means a lot to me. More than anything though, it means a lot to be able to represent my home state of Montana."

Coaches Frank Beamer and Mack Brown were selected Monday for the College Football Hall of Fame, part of a class of 13 that includes former players Ed Reed and Calvin Johnson.

Brown won 244 games in a 30-year head coaching career at four schools that featured 16 seasons and a national championship at Texas.

Beamer built Virginia Tech football into a national power, taking over the program in 1987 and leading the Hokies to a BCS championship game in 1999. His 280 victories rank sixth in FBS history.

The rest of the class includes Trevor Cobb of Rice; Kerry Collins of Penn State;  Dana Howard of Illinois; Paul Palmer of Temple; Matt Stinchcomb of Georgia; Aaron Taylor of Nebraska; Matt Tjeerdsma, who coached Austin College and Northwest Missouri State; and Michigan’s Charles Woodson, whose selection was announced Sunday.

No comments: