Wednesday, June 19, 2019

Kucherov Wins Hart/Lindsay

Image result for nikita kucherov

A total of 13 awards were handed out at the Mandalay Bay Events Center, including the Hart Trophy for NHL MVP, Vezina Trophy for the top goaltender, and the Norris Trophy for the top defenseman.

Complete Results

Hart Trophy: Nikita Kucherov

Willie O'Ree Community Hero Award: Rico Phillips

Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award: Wayne Simmonds

Vezina Trophy: Andrei Vasilevskiy

Jack Adams Award: Barry Trotz

Frank J. Selke Trophy: Ryan O'Reilly

Bill Masterton Trophy: Robin Lehner

James Norris Trophy: Mark Giordano

Ted Lindsay Award: Nikita Kucherov

King Clancy Trophy: Jason Zucker

General Manager of the Year: Don Sweeney

Lady Byng Trophy: Aleksander Barkov

Calder Trophy: Elias Pettersson

Nikita Kucherov of the Tampa Bay Lightning won the Hart Trophy as NHL most valuable player.

Kucherov became the second Lightning player to win the Hart Trophy, joining forward Martin St. Louis in 2003-04. The 25-year-old right wing also won the Art Ross Trophy by leading the NHL with 128 points (41 goals, 87 assists), breaking Alexander Mogilny's single-season record of 127 set with the Buffalo Sabres in 1992-93 for most by a Russia-born player. It was also the most by any NHL player since 1995-96, when Pittsburgh Penguins center Mario Lemieux had 161 and teammate Jaromir Jagr had 149.

Kucherov dominated the voting, receiving 164 of 171 first-place votes in amassing 1,677 points. Two-time Hart Trophy winner Sidney Crosby of the Pittsburgh Penguins finished in second place with 739 points, followed by 2017 Hart Trophy recipient Connor McDavid of the Edmonton Oilers (465 points).

Kucherov played all 82 games and had a point in 62, including 38 games with at least two points. The Lightning went 54-5-3 when he had a point and 8-11-1 when he didn't. They tied the NHL record for wins in a season with 62, equaling the 1995-96 Detroit Red Wings, and finished with the fourth-most points in NHL history (128) to win the Presidents' Trophy, but were swept by the Columbus Blues Jackets in the Eastern Conference First Round.

No comments: