Thursday, April 12, 2018

U of R Cougars Hand Out Athletics Awards

Men’s wrestler Lucas Hoffert headlined the major award winners at the 43rd Annual University of Regina Athletics Awards Night on Thursday night, receiving President’s Award honours at the University Theatre.

Hoffert, who earned U SPORTS silver and Canada West gold medals this season, capped off an impressive five-year career on the mat and in the classroom. The Regina product earned five conference medals in his career with the Cougars while maintaining a grade point average over 84% in the Campion Science program, and earning Academic All-Canadian honours three times.

Kyanna Giles was named the U of R Female Athlete of the Year after guiding the Cougars to a U SPORTS bronze medal and the school’s first Canada West championship since 2013. Giles, a Canada West first-team all-star and second-team All-Canadian, was the leading scorer (17.1 points per game) and rebounder (7.8 per game) as the Cougars finished the regular season with an 18-2 record.

The University of Regina Male Athlete of the Year is Atlee Simon after enjoying a stellar 2017 campaign in the Rams backfield. Simon was named a Canada West all-star while breaking the Rams’ all-time records for rushing yards, rushing touchdowns, and touchdowns scored. Simon finished the Canada West schedule with 914 rushing yards while racking up 293 yards through the air and six total touchdowns.

Carolina Goncalves received U of R Female Rookie of the Year honours after winning both the Canada West and U SPORTS Rookie of the Year awards. Goncalves, who hails from Oeiras, Portugal, averaged 12.1 points per game during the regular season and finished second on the team with 37 assists.

The University of Regina Male Rookie of the Year award was presented to Zak Zborosky, who had an impressive rookie season with the men’s hockey team cut short due to injury. Zborosky finished fourth in Canada West rookie scoring despite playing just 18 of the team’s 28 conference games, ending up with nine goals and 13 assists for 22 points.

The night also saw women’s basketball head coach Dave Taylor receive recognition as the U of R Coach of the Year. Taylor led the Cougars to a 34-4 overall record including a Canada West championship and U SPORTS bronze medal.

Major Awards
President’s Award – Lucas Hoffert (men’s wrestling)
Coach of the Year – Dave Taylor (basketball)
Female Athlete of the Year – Kyanna Giles (basketball)
Male Athlete of the Year – Atlee Simon (Rams football)
Female Rookie of the Year – Carolina Goncalves (basketball)
Male Rookie of the Year – Zak Zborosky (hockey)

Team MVPs
Men's Basketball – Alex Igual
Women's Basketball – Kyanna Giles
Rams Football – Atlee Simon
Men's Hockey – Cody Fowlie
Women's Hockey – Kylee Kupper
Women's Soccer – Lauren Petras
Men's Swimming – Brian Palaschuk
Women's Swimming – Bree Crookshanks
Men's Track & Field – Shane Patmore
Women's Track & Field – Reagan Fedak
Men's Volleyball – Brennan Goski
Women's Volleyball – Satomi Togawa
Men's Wrestling – Lucas Hoffert
Women's Wrestling – Miki Rowbottom

(U of R Athletics) 

No comments: